Go Team! and ramblings of a dream.

So this is going to be weird for me during football season as I am a huge fan of my alma matter’s college football team, and in my attempt to remain as anonymous as possible I’ve decided it best to not say which school I graduated from. So yes, Go Team! (Warning this post will have lots of memes 🙂 )

Image result for yay sports go team

But first, a recap… so Thursday didn’t work much, just did a couple conference calls and took about a half day’s vacation. My manager called concerned that he’s giving me too many projects and wanted to know what he could do to lighten my load. I laughed and told him I was fine seeing as I’m only about 70% utilized at the moment anyway hence all my time off recently. It’s nice to be appreciated and that he’s concerned as my former boss at my former employer didn’t give two hoots and would give a lecture about not overworking people as he heaped on more work or bitched me out for not completing something. Yeah, don’t miss that shit. This image showed up in my Facebook timehop history the other day. Really, really don’t miss that shit!!

Image result for i survived meeting email

Thursday I had quasi-planned on a boat outing followed by the Vikings final preseason football game with some food, thinking about taking the boat down to my new favorite marina restaurant or perhaps finishing on the river by 7 and bbq’ing at my house. As usual, all my friends bailed. Covered the boat back and took it back to the storage yard then got wings. HM finally responded around 7 to see what I was doing for dinner as I was driving back with my wings, so in a way blew him off. Felt good. On the drive over to get wings I learned that Teddy is out for the season with a dislocated knee and ACL tear. Watched the first half of the preseason game anyway but nothing to get excited about. This pretty much sums up how I feel about pro football right now – good thing I still have college to be excited about.

Image result for dead to me

At 9 I made a last ditch effort to see if anyone wanted to go to the Cheers bar for a beer or two. HM was tired and going to bed, SB was still in Vegas for VM World, and as usual, no response from DD. Watched Liar Liar and fell asleep on the couch.

Image result for stop breaking the law

Friday I slept late and took the afternoon off since I had a Nexus 7K upgrade scheduled to begin at 8pm, 2 hours away. Was not productive all day, had thought about cleaning out the garage and instead watched Big Bang most of the afternoon. Warmed up a couple pork chops for dinner and hit the road at 6. Got some texts from HM about wanting to go out Friday night boating or just drinking. Gave him an earful about me trying to make plans all week and having other plans this weekend – work Friday, football game Saturday, parents Sunday and Monday. I think he got it. He’s the least dickish of all my friends here lately. Anywho, I got onsite at 8 and figured out the upgrade procedure, first time I’ve had to do one on dual-sup chassis. Got the double-hop upgrade done and ran through the procedure for the bugfix on the failing bootflash RAID cards. Went to activate their FCoE license and started getting errors. Called TAC. 2 hours later we pretty much determined that that business unit had not bought the correct licensing. Hit the road at 2am and home by about 3:45. Made damn good time cruising home!

Woke up this morning about 11, showered, packed a duffel, fed the dog, ate the last 2 pork chops and hit the road for my college town, about an hour away. Parked in the west commuter lot and took the shuttle bus (which I used to drive in college) to the stadium for the season opener game. We won by a decisive victory although in my opinion the defense looked like absolute crap. It’s really weird not putting in the score… anyway, after the game took the shuttle back to the lot then drove up to my parents place stopping to get some wings quickly in route. Got here just in time to start our fantasy football draft. I think this is about the 9th year we’ve done it, second year doing a live draft. First year of a live draft where everyone got on the conference bridge so it was exciting, took about an hour and a half. Talked with the ‘rents for a while and we’re all just now going to bed, about 11:45pm. I’m still a little wired as my internal clock seems to be set to second shift here lately.

Driving to the Nexus upgrade the other night, passing by the exit for my college town I had this crazy notion that if I got the upgrade done quickly then I should go spend Friday night there at the local bar scene, grab a hotel room for the night, then go to the game today. That obviously didn’t work out as it was 3am, an hour past bar close, when I drove past on my way home. Plus the practical side of me knew I hadn’t packed ahead of time, although if I had been really practical I should’ve done that and saved myself 2 hours of drive time and the gas, and could’ve expensed the hotel as a business trip.

But I had this dream last night of renting a room somewhere near campus and living there part time, getting my old part-time bus driving job back (the one I did in college, campus/shuttle transit – not the party buses I do now) and either going to law school part time or pretending to be an undergrad again and “living it up” college style, a way that I didn’t when I was actually an undergrad as I was focused on adulting and being responsible, by working full time and paying rent. Also included in this dream was meeting a girl, falling in love, and someday having to explain that I was 30 not 23 and my whole life was a lie.

But it was definitely an interesting dream about a “do over” which <begin self-psychoanalysis> is probably spawned by my recent decline in social activity and desire to have that again. Also in the dream is maintaining my full-time career, so you know, to be able to afford to act like a college freshman. I’ve had this dream before, and the law school part is interesting because I really have no intention of ever becoming a lawyer, I just like to argue. My career goal is still to get CCIE certified and be a very high-end, very expensive consultant. The vast variety of things I get to work on in all the different business factions of my current employer kinda lends itself to consulting, in a weird way.

Ok, enough rambling. Back to my previously scheduled reality, already in progress (meaning bedtime) –  Bobert out!